First 'Man of the Year' event brings four synagogues together


On Nov. 23, 2014, four Conservative Congregation's Men's Clubs came together to honor an individual from each synagogue for their outstanding leadership in their efforts to provide service to their shul, their Men's Club and their community. There were 259 people who attended the event, which was called the "Man of the Year" and was held at Congregation Ohev Shalom in Maitland.

The four Conservative synagogues in Central Florida to join in the event were: Congregation Beth Am, Longwood; Temple Beth Sholom, Melbourne; Temple Israel, Winter Springs; and Congregation Ohev Shalom, Maitland.

The honorees were: (from left to right) Dr Neal Silverstein from Beth Am, David Pelzman from Temple Beth Sholom, Joe Ihns from Temple Israel,  and Richard Schwartz from Ohev Shalom. 

All of these clubs belong to the Federation of Jewish Men's Clubs (FJMC)

"This event filled us with pride, not only to recognize these outstanding individuals, but to have these four Conservative shuls join together in this celebration," said Howard Kaplan, co-president of COS's Men's Club.

Kaplan continued, "We need to thank the Men's Club presidents for their hard work in making this happen: Mark Lichtenstein, Beth Am; David Scholl, Temple Beth Sholom; Steve Berg/Joe Ihns, Temple Israel; and Alan Zelt/Howard Kaplan, Ohev Shalom. And we would also like to thank the clergy/shuls for their support-Rabbi Rick Sherwin of Beth Am; Rabbi Joel Fox of Temple Beth Sholom; Rabbi Joshua Neely of Temple Israel; and Rabbi Aaron D. Rubinger, Rabbi David Kay, and Cantor Alan Robuck of Ohev Shalom."


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024