Heritage Florida Jewish News - Central Florida's Independent Jewish Voice

Building a stronger Jewish community


F Harvell/OccasionalPhotography

Shown here (l-r): Blake Lenett, Ed Margolis, Bart Neuman, Dr. Mark Davids, Robyn Kast, Julius Sheinman, Dr. Robert Mandel, Paula Cohen (grandmother of Sam Ihns), Eric Hoffman, Howard Kaplan, and David Scholl.

On Nov. 8, 2015 four conservative congregation's Men's Clubs held an event to honor individuals from each of their participating synagogues for their outstanding leadership with their synagogue and their community. The event, called "Man of the Year/Youth of the Year," was held at Congregation Ohev Shalom in Maitland.

The four Conservative Temples in Central Florida that joined the event were Congregation Beth Am, Longwood; Temple Beth Sholom, Melbourne; Temple Israel, Winter Springs; and Congregation Ohev Shalom, Maitland.

All of the Men's Clubs belong to the International Federation of Jewish Men's Clubs (FJMC).

The honorees were: Dr. Mark Davids (Man of the Year) of Congregation Beth Am; Dr. Robert Mandel, MD (Man of the Year) and Julius Sheinman (Youth of the Year) of Temple Beth Sholom; Eric Hoffman (Man of the Year) and Sam Ihns (Youth of the Year) of Temple Israel; and Bart Neuman (Man of the Year) and Robyn Kast (Youth of the Year) of Congregation Ohev Shalom.

One hundred and sixty people attended the awards ceremony, which included cocktails, music, the awards presentation and dinner.

The four conservative synagogues worked together to recognize these outstanding individuals at the event.

This is the second Men's Club Man of the Year/Youth of the Year event and many thanks go to Andy Rosen and the Men's Club presidents for their hard work in making this happen: Mark Lichtenstein/Greg Alman, Congregation Beth Am; David Scholl/Todd Bergman, Temple Beth Sholom; Wayne Bilsky/Joe Ihns, Temple Israel; and Howard Kaplan/Bart Neuman, Ohev Shalom.

The Men's Clubs also thank the clergy for their support: Rabbi Rick Sherwin, Congregation Beth Am; Rabbi Joel Fox, Temple Beth Sholom; Rabbi Joshua Neely, Temple Israel; and Senior Rabbi Aaron D. Rubinger, Rabbi David Kay

and Cantor Allan Robuck, Ohev Shalom.

After dinner, the musical group "TBS Jew Man Group" entertained the guests with a great selection of lively songs.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 05/13/2022 07:22