Israel's 37th government sworn in


January 6, 2023

Avi Ohayon/GPO

President Isaac Herzog and Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu sit at the center of the traditional photograph of the incoming government at the President's Residence in Jerusalem, Dec. 29, 2022.

(JNS) - Israel's thirty-seventh government was sworn in on Thursday, the culmination of a weeks-long political process following the victory of Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu's right-religious bloc in the Nov. 1 national elections.

Netanyahu, Israel's longest-ever serving leader, takes the reins for his sixth term in the Prime Minister's Office, to which he returns following a year-and-a-half hiatus.

His Likud Party will lead a 64-member coalition in the 120-seat Knesset, that comprises the Religious Zionism Party (RZP), Otzma Yehudit, Noam, Shas and United Torah Judaism.

High-ranking appoi...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 04/15/2024 18:45