Critic's account of classical music after the Holocaust is named Jewish book of the year


February 9, 2024

Random House, Catapult, Knopf, Riverhead

National Jewish Book Awards for the best books of 2023 were presented to works by, from left, Sabrina Orah Mark, Ruth Madievsky, Jeremy Eichler and James McBride.

(JTA) - Music critic Jeremy Eichler's study of how classical composers made music after the Holocaust was named the book of the year by the Jewish Book Council, which will present the National Jewish Book Awards at an in-person ceremony in March.

"Time's Echo: The Second World War, the Holocaust, and the Music of Remembrance" was named the Everett Family Foundation Book of the Year and won both the Gerrard and Ella Berman Memorial History Award and the Holocaust Award in Memory of Ernest W. Michel. The book explores how four towering composers who lived through the Second World War transformed...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/29/2024 12:54